Great Reads

ARC REVIEW OUT TOMORROW – The Last House Guest by Megan Miranda

book
Publish Date:
5/1/19 
Author: 
Megan Miranda
Started: 3/18/19
Finished:
3/20/19
Pages:
336
Rating:
⭐⭐⭐️

Big thanks to Netgalley and Simon & Schuster fory giving me a copy to read and review before pulication. All opinions are my own.

Goodreads Review:

Littleport, Maine is like two separate towns: a vacation paradise for wealthy holidaymakers and a simple harbour community for the residents who serve them. Friendships between locals and visitors are unheard of – but that’s just what happened with Avery Greer and Sadie Loman.

Each summer for a decade the girls are inseparable – until Sadie is found dead. When the police rule the death a suicide, Avery can’t help but feel there are those in the community, including a local detective and Sadie’s brother Parker, who blame her. Someone known more than they’re saying, and Avery is intent on clearing her name before the facts get twisted against her.

My Review:

I had high expectations for this but it just did not deliver for me. I really enjoyed some of Miranda’s past works. This for me was drawn out in all of the wrong ways. Although it’s regarding Avery’s friend, Sadie’s suicide, there was too much data about her  assumed suicide without any importance. The book was drawn out unnecessarily in the fact that so much of the chapters were going no where. I like a thriller that keeps me on the edge of my seat and this not that.

The saving grace to this novel was the “didn’t see that coming” moment. I was somewhat satisfied with the explanation of everything and was surprised but I still felt like it was a little out of left field and too unrealistic for me in a sense. On top of that issue, I felt like the book could have used one more chapter to talk more about all of the many characters involved besides just the couple it closed the door for. I know that some people will really like this and I encourage you to read it if you liked Miranda’s past works. I may step away from her for a little bit since this and her last were not favorites of mine.