Great Reads

The Shark Club by Ann Kidd Taylor

the shark club
Publish Date:
6/6/17
Author: 
Elin Hilderbrand
Started:
2/4/20
Finished:
2/5/20
Pages:
288
Rating:
⭐⭐⭐⭐

Goodreads Summary:
One summer day on the beach in Florida, two extraordinary things happen to Maeve Donnelly. First, she is kissed by Daniel, the boy of her dreams. Then, she is bitten by a blacktip shark.

Eighteen years later, Maeve has thrown herself into her work as a world-travelling marine biologist discovering more about the minds of misunderstood sharks. But when Maeve returns home to the legendarily charming and eccentric Hotel of the Muses where she was raised by her grandmother, she finds more than just the blood orange sunsets and key lime pies she’s missed waiting for her.

While Maeve has always been fearless in the water, on land she is indecisive. A chance meeting on the beach with a plucky, irresistible little girl who is just as fascinated by the ocean as Maeve was growing up leaves her at a crossroads: Should she rekindle her romance with Daniel, the first love she left behind when she dove into her work? Or indulge in a new romance with her colleague, Nicholas, who turns up in her hometown to investigate an illegal shark-finning operation?

My Review:

If you know me, you probably know how much I love anything related to the ocean. When I was a kid, I had wanted to be a marine biologist but decided against it because I didn’t want to move away from my family where ideal locations for this job would be. Although I love my job, I sometimes find myself envious of this’d adventurous souls who chose this career. I’ve swam with sharks, fed and held with stingrays, and played with dolphins. I donate often to marine causes and watch countless documentaries. These preferences of mine made this book even more perfect for me but even without these personal preferences I would recommend the book!

This book is so underrated. It’s not only a book full of love, forgiveness, and adventure. It was funny, surprising, and kept me turning the pages as quickly as I could. I got to read this in the middle of the Caribbean and I’m so happy I picked this place to read it because although I wasn’t in the settings of the actual book, it was similar enough for me to get all the feels!

I felt connected to most of the characters.  This book also is a great example of being a role-model and it will make you want to find a little to help guide through the world and let that little experience their dreams! Maeve and Hazel’s relationship was amazing and I loved how Maeve was able to become a great mother figure to Hazel and look past her relationship woes finally.

Without giving up too much of the book, it is a great example of love, forgiveness, selflessness, and adventure! I have two wishes for the book which is why I knocked one star off. I wish Maeve and her twin brother, Robin’s, relationship was played out a little more. Robin ends up being such a major part and I felt like I didn’t get to know him enough. I also wish the ending and suspense was built up more. This could have turned into more of a thriller which only would have elevated this book for me. All in all, it is a book that I highly recommend. It is the perfect beach read!

 

Leave a comment