Great Reads

Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

book.jpg
Publish Date:
 3/5/19 
Author: 
Taylor Jenkins Reid
Started: 4/7/19
Finished:
4/11/19
Pages:
368
Rating:
⭐⭐⭐⭐

A big thanks to Netgalley and Ballantine Books for sending me this copy to read for review purposes. It was a blast!

Goodreads Summary:

Everyone knows Daisy Jones & The Six, but nobody knows the reason behind their split at the absolute height of their popularity . . . until now.

Daisy is a girl coming of age in L.A. in the late sixties, sneaking into clubs on the Sunset Strip, sleeping with rock stars, and dreaming of singing at the Whisky a Go Go. The sex and drugs are thrilling, but it’s the rock and roll she loves most. By the time she’s twenty, her voice is getting noticed, and she has the kind of heedless beauty that makes people do crazy things.

Also getting noticed is The Six, a band led by the brooding Billy Dunne. On the eve of their first tour, his girlfriend Camila finds out she’s pregnant, and with the pressure of impending fatherhood and fame, Billy goes a little wild on the road.

Daisy and Billy cross paths when a producer realizes that the key to supercharged success is to put the two together. What happens next will become the stuff of legend.

The making of that legend is chronicled in this riveting and unforgettable novel, written as an oral history of one of the biggest bands of the seventies. Taylor Jenkins Reid is a talented writer who takes her work to a new level with Daisy Jones & The Six, brilliantly capturing a place and time in an utterly distinctive voice.

My Review:

I read this as a buddy read for the month of April. I however finished long before needing to of course!

I was afraid that I wasn’t going to like this because it was so character driven and the format is odd in that it is written like an interview. I ended up really enjoying it anyway! This is just what I needed as a palatte refresher and to be transformed right into the 1970’s! Being a huge classic rock fan really helped me enjoy this and it may not be as interesting for someone who doesn’t enjoy the time period. I enjoyed the references such as the Whisky A GoGo, Dylan, Joplin, etc.

I started to get a tiny bit bored within the pages but not for long. I ended up giving it a four because I wanted more of the characters and less of the recording studio! Some things began to get repetitive such as the song-writing struggles or the over abundant drug usage. The characters were all extremely dynamic and were all important to the story which I loved. It’s actually pretty ironic that the characters are all so important as they mostly all feel so unimportant.

I loved Karen as a character even when I disagreed with her. Camila was hard for me to understand. I wish I had half of the patiance and understanding she has for Billy and the other bandmates. Daisy herself was annoying for me but I was always interested in her. I think a good book does just that! It gives you a character that can be pretty unlikable yet it makes you feel for the character anyway.

This was my first Reid book and I will be going back for more. I have her ever-popular The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo which I’ll be grabbing sooner rather than later!